This is It

 “Don’t live the same year 75 times and call it a life.” Robin Sharma

It’s funny that this popped up on my Pinterest board because I’ve been thinking along these lines lately. Recently I’ve had several conversations about safety and security. I’ve always been told I’m a dreamer. I’ve been told how/who to be. You’re smart, be a doctor. Do something where you make more money. Don’t ride your bide, drive. Or at least let me give you a ride. Don’t live in a shed. Don’t you want heat? Why are you going to California? Aren’t you scared? Are you really hiking by yourself? Why start your own business? Are you making money? Save for retirement. Maybe you need someone to bring you out of the clouds. You could do anything, are you sure this is what you want? Why change?

I believe in infinite possibilities. I believe in passion. I believe in taking risks. I believe in dreams. I believe in my dreams. I believe in me.

I am also afraid of delayed living. I am terrified to wake up when I’m 80 and realize I’ve live how I should, but feel completely unfulfilled. I’m afraid of not listening to my heart. To my intuition. I’m afraid of not falling in love. Of never knowing its pleasures and pain. I’m afraid of exchanging passion for mindless work and a paycheck. I’m afraid of not embracing those little moments. Kisses. Smiles. Laughter. My nephews. I’m afraid of missing out on life in the here and now. Of knowing there is a mountain out there calling my name and I never answered, because I was waiting…..waiting for everything to line up ‘perfectly’. But then perfect never comes. I’m afraid of smothering my creativity. Of editing to please everyone, rather than digging into my own imagination and letting the right people come to value what I have to offer. I’m afraid of letting my voice be stifled. Of remaining silent and let someone else narrate.

This is it. Life is happening NOW! This is our one shot. Why merely exist? Why not live? And life is ALL of it. It’s not safe. It is uncertain. It ebbs. It flows. There are constant changes. There are struggles. There are challenges. There is loss. And sadness. But there is also love. Beauty. Joy. Laughter. Triumph. Awe. Happiness. Moments with the potential to take your breath away. Moments as I mentioned with Camus’s quote, of a life lived to tears. Why not take risks? Why not live life wide open? Vulnerable? Hearts ope and receptive to love. To connection. Sharing our minds? Letting our souls shine? Why not bring our dreams to life? Even if they never happen ‘perfectly’ why not follow them? Why not let them lead us? Why not follow our passion? Our intuition? Heart?

THIS IS IT.

Leave a Reply

