Dream State vs. Our Actual Lives

She's a dreamer, a doer, a thinker. She sees possibility everywhere.Today I couldn’t help but wonder:

What creates the disconnect between dreaming without limits and living without limits?

I think this all started out of a conversation with my cousin the other night. He usually seems to be on my case. Joking about my ‘stoner’ mentality (despite the the fact that you actually should smoke weed in order to be a stoner) and spirit animal way of talking (although I’d like to point out that he was the one pulling out pics of his spirit animal on his phone-a bear cub in a bath tub with bubbles on its nose). Anyway, he can jest about my dreamer ways, but when it was just the two of us, I am a great person to share dreams with. I am constantly reevaluating mine, tweaking, sharing, and taking actions to make mine happen. But more I listen. Talk dreams to a dreamer because they’re not going to tell you No or point out limitations. They’re going to say: do it! Because when he shared with me that he could see himself developing into a director, I knew he’d be great at it. You could tell it was something he was passionate about.

So we have this rad conversation about true dreams, but when someone asks later about where he sees himself the answer changes. The typical, safe answer, not the creative dream of his heart that we just talked about.

One: I wonder why we hold ourselves back from even dreaming? I find I can often weasel dreams out of my friends and family, but sometimes its not something we allow time for, for ourselves. Why? Why are we afraid of wanting the life of our dreams? Is it the vulnerability of dreams? Is it the raw connection and journey into our souls that we have to take to realize dreams? Is it the uncomfortable feeling of knowing we are not on the path of our dreams? We all have wants, why are we afraid to dream or more importantly ask for them. Why deny ourselves of the things and experiences we truly want?

Two: do we then not live our dreams because of reasons above? Because we’re afraid? Because we’re afraid of our potential? Because we’re looking at the big picture and not the daily tasks to make dreams come true?

Where does that disconnect come in then? We have dreams, why are we not living them? Why are we not starting on them? Why are we not taking action?

What is separating our dream state from our reality?

So many questions. So many variables for each person. Are dreams worth the risk? Are they worth living? Do we truly want to live out loud? If this is our one shot and opportunity, this life, why not?

Today is just a day of pondering life’s questions. There are not always concrete answers. But for me, I want to take strides and believe I’m in my dream. Like the tattoo on my arm:

Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake.

Leave a Reply

