Be an Artist of Life

I am on a journey...with my work, my explorations, and a few sad stories. I travel with a suitcase full of outrageous blessings. I am on a quest for truth, beauty, and quiet joy. I am an artist, a writer, an explorer.Growing up everyone told me I should be an artist. I was even voted most artistic in my class. When I was in fifth grade you have the option to either take strings or newspaper. However, the year I was in fifth grade they offered advanced art (like it was a little gift just for me). It was then that I fell incandescently in love with sketching portraits. Needless to say I didn’t actually study art. But I have noticed how the artist, the creative, eccentricity has manifested into other areas of my life. In my makeup. In my personal style. In my bedroom. In my business. In baking. A month ago I was talking with Tab about my artist past and she said,

But Brittany, you are an artist. An artist of life.

Boom, reason at least a billion of why I have such radical friends. She’s right. Life is an art. For some it may be music. A song and soundtrack. For me it is a vivid happy scenery I paint. One that I love irrevocably. A beautiful, magical experience. I love sharing my beautiful views of the world. In my photography. In the spark of my eyes. In my food. In my booth. In my clothes. It’s in my dreams. In the chase. In the journey. It’s the beautiful climb to the top and the breathtaking view from the top. It’s the descent back down through different awe-filled eyes. It’s the feeling in the music. In the feelings. In the emotions. The darkness. The light.  To me authenticity, being courageously and unapologetically me has created a striking, colorful work of art in progress. Life is something we create through our choices. And as Viktor Frankyl says, even when we are denied freedoms we still have a choice about how we suffer. Misery or happiness? We are responsible for the paint that hits the canvas. The interpretations will be different. But we are the artist. Our creativity. Our emotions. Our thoughts. The rewrites. The tweaks. Sometimes we start a new masterpiece. I’ve been there. I’ve had to pitch one in favor for a newer brighter, unique, purpose/passion driven expression. As Danielle LaPorte says:

Art happens in the editing. Writers pour out ideas and images and nuances, but it doesn’t become art until it’s well-carved and polished. Characters need to be killed off. The sexy headline has to fall by the wayside so that the heart of the story can really take the lead. Every musician has had that one song that they’d love to include on their album, but it was out of place and needed to stay in the vault, at least for that go-round. THE ARTIST UNDERSTANDS THAT DESTRUCTION IS PART OF EXPANSION AND IS WILLING TO DO WHAT’S BEST FOR THE MASTERPIECE. Your life is your art. When you make tough choices in favor of your soul, you’re making a masterpiece out of your existence.

What does your soul say? What does your canvas look like? What do you want to change? What do you want to edit? How can you make it better? How can it be a representation of dreams? A representation of your now? What do you want to add? What do you want to take away? Do it! Create your masterpiece.

 

Leave a Reply

