The Need to Hurry: Slow Your Ass Down

"The answers you seek never come when the mind is busy, they come when the mind is still." #quoteLast week I spoke about my tendency to be thinking six steps ahead and then I received an honest text about my baking from a dear friend:

To make them better would be to lower the baking temperature and bake a little longer. Try this with your bars too. A little under baking would make them moister. Slow down and breathe! Love you!

Now sometimes advice can make us what to defend and retaliate. But this is coming from a soul-sister of mine and she is reminding of what I need to hear. She knows I may be thinking of ALL I have to bake rather than focusing on what I’m baking right now. But this text hit me more than just baking advice. How often do I catch myself hurrying? Where am I trying to get to?

At work I’ll time myself baking. I am constantly looking at the clock to see if I am behind or ahead. My goal is to push out a lot of work in a short period of time. Or when I read my water meters I time myself. Why? Why the rush? What am I so desperate to get to? Because honestly most of the time I’ll end up rushing from one thing to another to the next thing. A constant state of strife. Where is it that I am trying to arrive? I have no freaking clue. But I heard Mary loud and clear:

SLOW DOWN!

My Dad and I talk about stillness frequently. It was I who handed in Tolle’s book with the title. Why do I not practice stillness? Great freaking question. Which is why I am now aware of my rushing. Now I can work on changing it. I focus on changing the habit at work. I don’t even look at the clock. I focus on piping each pie in front of me. I focus on doing my best. And you know what? I enjoy it, and it doesn’t take any more time, but my work is better. The experience is calmer, more relaxed. The day, the time seems to flow smoother. I’ve stopped focusing on what time it is, what day it is. What is relevant is what I’m doing in feeling NOW.

Your innermost sense of self, of who you are, is inseparable from stillness. This is the I Am that is deeper than name and form. ~Eckhart Tolle

Plus I notice it is more of a challenge to see opportunities when you are thinking about what’s coming up on the trail, rather than being on your current step. Letting go has become a new practice of mine. And I mean really letting go. The ego doesn’t want to, but I do. Letting go of doing everything right. Letting go enough to be guided. To tap into my intuition. To let the Universe give me what I want and need. I’m a list, intention girl. Stop thinking about everything you need to do. And let the day happen. Let your dreams happen. Do things with joy. Do things that bring you joy, which light up your passions.

Slow down. Stop looking at the clock. Stop looking at your phone. Get off your bike to rush to the grocery store and walk. Sit on your meditation pillow and surrender. Slow down and take a bite. Taste each bite. Stop thinking of a laundry list and listen. Listen to the person in front of you. Listen to your heart. Listen to nature. Slow down and get truly present, because when you thought you were present before, you hadn’t even touched the surface. Dive deeper. Live more. Get still. Free yourself of the rushing, hurrying feeling. You are here where are you rushing too? Life is happening right now.

 

Leave a Reply

