Asking for Help

Sometimes asking for help is the bravest move you can make.  You don't have to go it alone.Growing up I could probably be described as stubborn. I like to think more along the lines of free-spirited, fiercely independent, ambitious, a dreamer, a drifter, a visionary. Anyways whatever you like to call it, I’ll be honest and say these are all adjectives covering up my pride and sometimes ego. Too proud to ask for help. I would only trust myself to do it. A dangerous game for an ambitious dreamer. How does one person-ME- accomplish all my ideas? Let’s be real there is only so much I can do in a given time frame. But I pig-headishly hold onto doing it all myself or not at all. I don’t trust others with my vision. Wow, have I really been so uppity? So sthttps://bepaulin.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post-new.php?post_type=postuck in the : it’s only me.

Learning to ask for help is a blow to my pride, a shot through the ego. It goes against the shy girl, fearful of what others think. Afraid of no. Asking for help is an incredibly vulnerable place. Sharing makes me vulnerable. Naked. Exposed. There is no wall to hide behind. No armor to shield me. Asking for help and sharing is a challenge.

But I’ve also learned it is necessary. Not just to get shit done and create my vision, but important to connect me to people We are all one. The things I go through, are like everyone else. Ever heard of Brene Brown? Well she has a great little book about thinking it’s only just us. If I’m going through something. If I need a shoulder, an ear, a taste-tester, an editor: I can, need, should be able to ask. It’s amazing how just throwing something out or saying you want something, the Universe conspires to make it happen. When I say I want into the farmers market. Instantly a friend has a connection. Finally with perseverance I make it in.

Put your ideas out. Live your truth. Be honest. Be real. Be vulnerable. Ask for help. If you want something don’t let your ego, pride or fear get in the way.

Self Love is... Asking for help sometimes. #selfloveu

Leave a Reply

