The Gift of Gratitude

You think this is just another day in your life. It’s not just another day. It’s the one day that is given to you today. It’s given to you. It’s a gift. It’s the only gift that you have right now. And the only appropriate response is gratefulness. If you do nothing else but to cultivate that response to the great gift that this unique day is, if you learn to respond as if it were the first day in your life and the very last day, then you will have spent this day very well.

Begin by opening your eyes and be surprised that you have eyes you can open, that incredible array of colors that is constantly offered to us for our pure enjoyment. Look at the sky. We so rarely look at the sky. We so rarely note how different it is from moment to moment with clouds coming and going. We just think of the weather and even of the weather we don’t think of all the many nuances of weather. We just think of good weather and bad weather. This day right now is unique weather, maybe a kind that will never exactly in that form come again. The formation of clouds in the sky will never be the same that is right now. Open your eyes. Look at that.

And in this present moment on this day all the people you meet, all that life from generations and from so many places all over the world flows together and meets you here like a life-giving water if you only open your heart and drink.

So these are just a few of an enormous number of gifts to which we can open your heart. So I wish you that you would open your heart to all these blessings and let them flow through you, that everyone whom you will meet on this day will be blessed by you, just by your eyes, by your smile, by your touch. Just by your presence. Let the gratefulness overflow into blessing all around you. Then it will really be a good day.

I thought the other day of getting rid of this site. I thought I could do with some simplifying in my life. Maybe I should just focus on building my Delish site. Then I watched SuperSoul yesterday and I found this gem. The beauty and inspiration of this video nearly makes me want to cry. This is how I want to live. To see the blessing and gift of each day, each moment, each person. I want to see this world. I am grateful. And when I think of the major passions I have in my life: writing, hiking and cooking, I know I want to do more of them. So I don’t need to simplify. I need to prioritize for my passions. I need to use my time to write everyday. Because sharing positive videos like this is something that feels good to my soul. It allows me to express myself. To show the beauty I see everyday, in my life, in the day, in Nature, in my senses, in my thoughts, in my heart.

So back to this video. I fully encourage you to google Louie Swartzberg. His videos and photos are breathtaking. I’m having a hard time sitting here to write because they make me want to go outside right now. It’s rainy so what. It makes me want to takes today’s gift of rain and experience. Play in the mud. Dance in the rain. I want to explore. I want to travel. I want to feel. I want to feel apart of this world. I want to be in awe. I want to see the world. It does make me feel grateful. Each morning I wake up, I am thankful for waking. For another day. Another gift. What do I want to do with today? What do I want to create? Who will I meet? What will the day bring? What can I bring to the day? Gratitude has been my savior the past years. When I feel down. When I’m struggling. When I feel like I’ve fallen. When I can’t get beyond the present moments challenges. When I want to give up. When I want to feel sorry for myself. I pause. Breathe. And then I remember what all I have. That thankfulness brings the light back out. Wow how great it is to be alive.

For instance I have a friend who just broke up with her boyfriend. It is trying. I watch her getting sucked down a dark hole. How do you get out? For me I think: look. Look at what you have. You and your life have so much potential and opportunities. You have a great job. You just bought a new home. You have family. You have friends right here. You have shelter. You have food. You are alive. That is something. That is something to be thankful for. How blessed is your life? I go back to Viktor Frankl, that even when all human rights are taken, we still have the choice to decide how we suffer. “Great you’re comparing me to Anne Frank,” is her exclamation. We should all be so great as to be compared to Anne Frank, who despite all her circumstances, still believed in the good of people.

I want to live each day like this video. I want to be present. To feel my blessings. I want to be in the gift I’ve been given. I want to live in awe. Thank you Louie!

One thought on “The Gift of Gratitude

  1. Pingback: Get Outside: TODAY | Living Thoreauly

Leave a Reply

