Believe in Yourself First

...however you treat your wife, husband, sister, brother in front of your friends gives them permission to treat her or him the same way.  So treat your loved one with the utmost love and respect in front of others“Today I affirm that there is nothing in me but love. This love comes from total acceptance of myself and the understanding that I am a perfectly imperfect human being.  I will walk through today and allow myself to fully express my perfection. I realize that all my “faults” are actually the Universe’s unique way of expressing itself through me. I let go of self judgment and any projected judgments of others that I have chosen to believe and finally allow myself to just be what I truly am: infinite. As this is true for me, so it is true for all other beings on the planet. I will choose to accept everyone in my life with the same radical acceptance I have for myself knowing that we are all perfectly imperfect human beings simply doing the best we can. And so it is.”n– Jackson Kiddard

Your choice of thoughts is powerful. I’ve written this a lot lately, but it is currently what I’ve been on my mind. Part of the BeYOUtiful World project is to find out about how women feel about themselves. If only 4% think they’re beautiful, what is holding the rest the other 96% back? Is it part humbleness? Is it that we don’t feel we deserve the title of beautiful? Does it come in comparing our beauty to someone elses? Is it conditioning? Is it society? Is it media? Ultimately we can’t blame our feelings on anyone else, on any other source. Take responsibility for your own emotions. Yes media and society can influence  how we feel but we decide to believe what they say. We define life for ourselves. And I’m not just talking beauty. This is everything. We hold ourselves back. Excuses, blame, fear, comfort zones keep us firmly away from our dream life. Actually they can keep us from dreaming period. I’ve been called a dreamer ever since I was a little girl, but being ambitious and hopeful is never something I’ve been ashamed of. To me it is better to dream and have authentic goals, than to let someone else design my life.

I love life. Period. Being alive is pretty much enough for me. Waking up each day, I’m enthused. What another day? What can I do? Who can I be? What adventure can I have today? How can I connect? How can I love? What can I do for my dreams? How can I be better? How can I challenge myself? Let’s go! Their are naysayers. I’m weird. Weird is a title we give to those we don’t understand. We, myself included, want to figure things out. We want a definition. We want definitive answers. You can’t with people. We grow. We change. Boxing each other in with labels, disables us from becoming our true selves. Our authentic selves because we feel we have to be this person. When I was hitch-hiking in California, I finally realized, “who the hell is this Brittany I am constantly trying to be.” This week it hit me. I used to try so hard in life. I was a goody-goody. I wanted to please people. I went to college because I was too smart not too. I wanted to be the successful person they believed I should be. I wanted to fit their images of physical perfection. I developed unhealthy eating habits and a complete dislike for my body, because I was told I needed to be this ____ (insert a low number) weight and this ____ (number) percentage. If I wasn’t there I wasn’t perfect. I wasn’t enough. Then I got spiritual. I stepped away from this and I called Bull shit. Think for yourself. Make your own choices. Live it doing your best. Dig deep. What do you want?

Eventually I declared f*** it to convention. I’m moving into a shed with no electricity. Why? Why would you do it? Why ride my bike places all summer? Why start my own business? Isn’t that risky? Don’t you want financial security? What about your future? What about retirement? Do what makes you feel good. You don’t have to be educated. You don’t have to be the best. You just have to be yourself. If you want it create it. You paint this life. You’re the artist. Excuses will leave the canvas blank. I can’t because ______. In real life ___. You create unhappiness. You stay in the comfort zone. Step away from it. Give me burning passion over cookie-cutter any day. Risk is fun. Challenges bring me excitement. I’d rather go for it, than always be wishing. Don’t think, “oh wouldn’t that be nice” “I wish I could, but ____”. Stop. Believe in yourself. Believe in your dreams. Allow yourself to be awesome. Be bold. Be beautiful. Be smart. Be confident. Because you already all these things. Believe in your own potential and infinite possibilities that are inside ALL of us. 

Getting a little cocky there Brittany. My friend has told me this. When she’s thinking she can’t have something and I tell her yes. When I declare yes I’m extraordinary. Believing in yourself is not cockiness, it is beautiful. If I don’t believe in myself, who the hell else is? If I don’t define life for myself, someone else will. Believing is bold. It’s revolutionary. It’s what those 4% have. I am not special. I have the same potential as everyone else. I have access to the same infinite possibilities as everyone else. Only difference is I believe in them. I’m not smarter than anyone else, but in school I thought it was easy and so it was. We create our circumstances by the attitude we bring to them. How do you want to feel? What do you want in life? Why can’t you be that person? Why can’t you be that person starting now?

Change a negative thought today. Getting ready to meet my friends the other day I caught myself. I had a Mean Girls moment in front of the mirror, picking apart my body. Then I stopped looking at myself that way. I was destroying my body with negative thoughts. So I stopped giving energy to them and I started giving power to the positive ones. I got thankful for the beautiful body I have. I got my spirit back. The unconditional loving me that is always available to me.  The real me, the I am at my core. Boom negativity you’re gone. I’m out to have fun with my friends.

“You have a strength of your own that is great enough to do all that is necessary. The Almighty has implanted genius within the soul of everyone and what we need to do is to unearth that inner genius and cause it to shine forth…  All the power and intelligence of the Universe is already within, waiting to be utilized. Self-reliance is the word to dwell on. Listen to your own voice; it will speak in terms that are unmistakable. Trust in your own self more than in all else.” – Ernest Holmes

2 thoughts on “Believe in Yourself First

Leave a Reply

