You Smell Like the Woods and Fresh Air

The best compliment I’ve gotten recently? You smell like outside. Excuse me? You smell like the woods, like air, like trees. YES! This feels like complete winning to me. I’d just finished a hike. I was soaring high and this had me exploding to be back in the woods. I’ve dug deep. I’ve searched for my passion. What brings me joy? When am I happiest? One of these answers is hiking. I have to hike, period. Why do I enjoy hiking so much?

I love hiking because I feel connected. I feel connected to Nature. I feel connected to myself. I feel whole. I feel perfect. I feel content. I feel complete bliss. We love being outside because nature is whole, perfect, and connected. We want a piece of that, so we seek refuge in the outdoors. When I was in Colorado I’d go to the mountains frequently. I was in such awe of them. I can just stare at mountains. But it was weird because in one aspect I felt so humbled. So small, in the sense that my ‘problems’ and ‘worries’ seemed so small. Why the hell am I taking this so seriously? Look around? What is there to be upset about? Nature does not judge you. Get over it. Get over yourself. Get out there. So even though my problems felt small, I then felt full of infinite possibilities and potential.

Hiking makes me mindful. I reconnect with myself. In the fresh air I unplug. I get back to my thoughts, my heart, my passion, my creativity. I have my best ideas in the woods. My highest thoughts. My energy vibrations are off the charts. I feel so alive. I hike because I feel so alive. My spirit is literally buzzing when out in the trees, in the fresh air. I’m away from critics and naysayers and the influence of others. I can connect with my purpose. It feels so good. My dreams seem so close. Everything is lined up. My potential soars. The possibilities fill me.

This is why I hike. Because it is good for my soul. Hmm…. you smell like the outdoors. Yes tell me again!

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings. Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees. The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn.”~John Muir

Leave a Reply

