Being Present and Having too Much Fun

Can you really have too much? Snow, snow, snow, the last week in Indiana has been nothing but snow. What does this mean? Sledding. Mom and I took the boys as cover, because really we’re the big kids. Give the boys and sleds and mom and I are off on our own. Running to jump on each others backs to fly down belly first. Or pep talking each other into going for the ramp. “Want to?” “Let’s!” And boy did we ever hit that ramp. Why not go down with three grown women on one sled? We flew. We crashed. We even took out a few kids. And we laughed (and I may have sworn a couple times). And we laughed. Not pretentious laughter, but that soulful, belly laughter. That laughter that comes deep within. The real you. Your real joy bubbling up. Pouring out. It takes your breath away. And it feels damn good.

To hit the pause button. To truly have your thoughts just go away. PRESENCE.  This is my word for 2014. I want to feel, BE, live for presence. I remember watching a Super Soul with Mariel Hemingway, when Oprah asked her the most challenging thing, “staying” present. I catch myself all the time. Going through what I want to get done. Thinking about an appointment later. Thinking too much on my dreams. I forget to be where I am. I’m with my friends or family thinking of a project. Pause. Stop. Breathe. Get back to this moment. Right now happening in real time. This is what matters, this time right now. Focus on where I am. Embrace. Be loving. Be kind. BE HERE. Listen. Play. Laugh with your whole heart. Have fun. Have so much fun, that when you leave the hill people stop and say, “Hey you ladies look like you’re having too much fun.” Yes we are because we are content in this moment, on this hill, letting it all go. Like Winnie the Pooh says in the Tao of Pooh:

Life is fun.

After I read this short little sentence, I thought: I never need to read another inspirational/spiritual book again, I have found the key to life. Allow yourself to have fun. And be present. No moment, besides the one you are in this very second is guaranteed, enjoy the time you have. Love to you all, seize and enjoy the day!

“To get the most success out of life have no agenda other than to give whatever you can in the present moment. A smile, a laugh, a quarter, a helping hand, an introduction or just your listening ear is more powerful than you can imagine. Beneath every gift is the knowing that the Universe is abundant and that you lose nothing by giving away what you have. Others will feel comfortable in your presence and all good things will find you – WITHOUT seeking them.” – Jackson Kiddard

Leave a Reply

