What do you Want?

What do you want? #famouspersonquote #shapethisWhat do you want?

I open my Oprah/Deepak meditation to find this staring me in the face.

What do you want?

This question keeps coming and coming at me. Recently I read the Law of Attraction by the Hicks’. The same thing. We have to dig deep and ask: what do I want? What do I want from this life experience? How do I want to feel? How do I want to be? What do I want to create? Where do I want to go? Then once we know what we want we ask for it. Then we allow for it to happen. We trust that it is already unfolding, that we are taken care of. We keep our vibration up. Same thing, I am rereading the Tao one verse at a time. The first first says:

Ever desireless, one can see the mystery;

ever desiring, one sees only the manifestations.

And the mystery itself is the doorway

to all understanding.

As Dyer points out: think of gardening and desiring those luscious homegrown tomatoes: allowing them to grow is ultimately what happens. We have to allow ourselves to grow. We have to allow our dreams to unfold. We have to allow ourselves to be loving. We have to allow ourselves to be vulnerable. But we also have to know what we want. Where we want to go. How do I want to feel, then I can allow myself to be that way.

I have dug deep with this for the last month. I have a blackboard in my shed dedicated to what I want and each day I allow myself time to go over these. Initially we may want to go crazy with material things, but recently I have had another conversation on happiness. I remember Gary Zukav on Oprah saying happiness comes from external things. When we get something it makes us happy, when we achieve something, it makes us happy. Joy, joy is a state of being. Saturday I had someone remind me of this same thing (and she doesn’t watch Super Soul, it was all her). The Law of Attraction suggest to start with that state of being:

I want to be joy.

And I do, I truly want to be joyful. So then I dig deeper and deeper still. What do I want?

  • I want to be kind. I want to be compassionate.
  • I want to be a loving being. I want to give love and be loved. I want to love others as they are. I want to give them that gift. I want to love myself. I want unconditional ONE kind of love. Be and let be.
  • I want to serve.
  • I want to live with purpose and passion.
  • I want to be creative.
  • I want to be authentic. I want to be vulnerable, and believe me this post is incredibly vulnerable.
  • I want connections. I want real relationships. I want conversations, laughs, tears, fun, dinners, challenges, adventures. I want to listen. I want hugs and girls night and movies and life events. I want a family. I want to be there with them, for them. I want to see people. I want to see beauty.
  • I want adventure. I want to be in nature. I want to hike and hike and hike. I want to climb mountains.
  • I want to experience new things. I want to love my fears and have fun. I want to embrace uncertainty.
  • I want challenges. I want to learn and grow.
  • I want to be peaceful. I want to be serene.
  • I want to express myself. I want to be a writer. I want to take stunning photos and moving videos. I want to captures life’s moments. I want to blog and share. I want to cook and bake. I want to share my food with others. I want to write a cookbook.
  • I want to build my dreams. I want to live in them. I want to build my brands. I want Bliss Delish to flourish and thrive. I want people to come to my stand. I want to talk to them. I want to give them my food, a piece of me, a piece of my creativity, a piece of spirit.
  • I want to be inspired and be inspiring.
  • I want to be present and live in the now.
  • I want to be healthy and fit.

There are more things I could say and add to this list but when Oprah asked this morning, “what do you want?” The first thing that popped into my head, which felt so right in my heart is that I want to love and I want to be joyful. What is it you truly want? What matters to you? I think too, we can go back to defining life on our own terms. Don’t let others tell you how to think or feel. Ask yourself questions. Get real. What is success to you? What is beauty? What is health? What is fun? What is meaningful? What is strength? The answers be different for everyone. I go to a Mans Search for Meaning by Viktor Frankl:

“Everyone has his own specific vocation or mission in life; everyone must carry out a concrete assignment that demands fulfillment. Therein he cannot be replaced, nor can his life be repeated. Thus, everyone’s task is unique as is his specific opportunity to implement it.”

 

6 thoughts on “What do you Want?

  1. Pingback: Do More of What You Love | Brittany's Bliss

Leave a Reply

