Inspired Spaces: The Things that Matter

017Each object tells a story and each story connects us to one another and to the world. The truth is, things matter. They have to. They’re what we live with and touch each and every day. They represent what we’ve seen, who we’ve loved and where we hope to go next. They remind us of the good times and the rough patches and everything in between that made us who we are.

Watching Nate Berkus on Super Soul made me think of the way we perceive things. Because even though I’ve simplified a lot, I still have things and the things I do have matter to me. So after I watched the episode I went to the library right away and checked out Nate’s book, “The Things That Matter.” Right off the bat I was hit with this beauty. It made me think of the space, the environment, the vibrations that we create.

When I was in Colorado my mom would go to my shed. She said she felt connected to me there. She could feel me there. The first time my outspoken friend Tab came in, she was silenced taking it all in, but the next time I mentioned it, she threatened me to never change it.

Spaces are about evoking a feeling. They should be authentic. They should represent you and your personal style. It’s not about copying a picture from Better Homes and Gardens or from Pinterest. It’s not about filling it with pretty things. It is about projecting yourself into the space. Your style. Your thoughts. Your memories. Your favorite colors. Your dreams. Your art. Your photos. Your books. Your creativity. Let it be a physical representation of what’s inside you. Let it help you house your memories.

I’ve been revamping my shed, in doing so I keep this quote in mind. I want to dream, be creative, be joyful, and feel true to myself. My space reflects this. I have surrounded myself in my dreams and inspiration.

So let the things around you reflect you. You, your style and what you want. Let it inspire you to write, draw, love, photograph, share, make music, cook, play, have parties, relax, meditate, and so much more.

024

Leave a Reply

