It’s Okay to Say NO

I need to say "No" to demanding people sometimes, it's a lesson that I'm still learning!

What I stop doing is just as important as what I start and continue to do. Stopping = the white space. Stopping = room to run free and create from the deepest place of being without restraint or compromise. Stopping = more time for what matters most. ~Danielle LaPorte

No. It’s simple. A mere two letters, but these two letters can so often get stuck on the tongue. A wall pops up before it can escape our lips. In an effort to please and satisfy. Because it’s uncomfortable to tell someone no. Because deep down we are all afraid that we are unlovable. If we tell someone no, then this could wreck it all. So instead we say yes. Not yes to the life we want and desire, the one which burns our thoughts and enlivens our souls, but yes to an expected life.

We waste so much time doing what we should be doing. Doing what’ asked rather than listening to our own hearts and intuition. We’re following the beaten path, rather than our own destined trail. We think a yes of submission makes us lovable, when being our true selves, coming from a state of love, is really what makes us more lovable.

My friend Tab one paid me a great compliment. She told me I can be such a peaceful, I love everyone person, yet if I don’t want to do something, I dig in my heals. I’ve never claimed to wasn’t stubborn, but:

  1. I don’t have time to waste being mad, so if someone tells me no, I accept and move on. Tell me no. Don’t tell me what you think I want to hear or try to make me happy. Only I can do that, only I can feel that. I give you permission to tell me no, to be yourself.
  2. This is my one life, I want to fill it to the brim. I want to create, paint, and write the story of my dreams. I don’t want to waste it doing things I’m not good at, that I don’t enjoy or that I am not going to be enthused about (although I confess I can always change my outlook or perspective about the situation, but sometimes that doesn’t happen or I feel guided elsewhere).

I am saying a big YES to my life. My time. It is okay to say no. To be told no. Decide to say or let it go when you hear it, and move on to Life’s big yes moments.

Leave a Reply

