Live in Happiness

I'm HAPPY! The question is... are you? lol ;)“When you’re Happy for No Reason, you bring happiness to your outer experiences rather than trying to extract happiness from them. You don’t need to manipulate the world around you to try to make yourself happy. You live from happiness, rather than for happiness.” Marci Shimoff,

Finally I’m starting to fully embrace this ‘hey the Universe wants good for you, let me take care of you outlook.’ First The Mind of the Soul by Gary Zukav arrives for me at the library. Next this quote finds me in my inbox. And lastly Sunday I decide, ‘hey today, why don’t you watch Super Soul.’ Who was on the show? I tuned in just in time to watch the last half hour of the interview with none other than Gary Zukav. What snagged my attention most was when Gary pointed out that happiness is attached to the physical world. When we get a new promotion it makes us happy. When we get a new car, it makes us happy. When we lose weight it makes us happy. But the happiness fades away. We need more to make us happy again. But the more we get the harder it is to achieve the same happiness. Oprah (who I think basically all would agree is financially blessed and could have anything money can buy) agree with this, that she had felt this in her own life. That the more she got, the quicker the happiness seemed diminish. Joy on the other hand is a state of being.

This I agree with, but I also believe we can use the quote above and shift our perspective on how we view happiness and what makes us happy. I used to feel I needed a reason to be happy (actually to feel in general). Then when people asked me I could quickly defend and explain where it was coming from. Then one day I was happy for new reason. Hmm… this feels better than when I try to define why I need to be happy. It felt real. It felt like it came from within. I’ve also expressed before that I am over and done with defending myself. Why are you happy? Because I just am. I live happiness. I don’t live for the next thrill or think that happiness is outside of myself. I used to think that. This adventure or when I make so much money or when I have this job or when I weigh this much and so on, then I will be happy. You know what’s wrong with this? You are never satisfied. You are never enough. You want and need more. Like an addict, you have to keep searching for the key to your happiness. Why not unlock the door to the happiness already residing in you? Right now. Right where you are. It’s not in the next promotion. It’s not in a new house or another city. It’s already here. Stop suppressing. Be open to it and use that innate happiness and joy. Let it show in compassion and service to others. And don’t apologize for being happy. I face negative feedback sometimes because I am happy. If someone’s dogging on you for being too happy, pray for them that they find the joy within themselves or show them the way by example. It doesn’t have to be over-the-top joker smiling and crazy laughter, it can be subtle. It’s a shy smile. A kind word. It’s compassion. It’s love.  It’s a part of you, let it out. Embrace the Universe and shift your perspective. All you need is already inside of you. You have all the keys to a beautiful life. When life throws you a curve ball, hold on, get creative, and keep a positive perspective.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Live in Happiness

  1. Pingback: Radical Self-Love | Living Thoreauly

Leave a Reply

