Slow Down

There is a process that you are meant to go through in order to be shaped and prepared for your future and delays and challenges are part of this process. It’s a process you can’t rush. Rushing only creates stress that prevents you from seeing and following the signs that will lead you on the right path. Rushing causes you to take on opportunities that you are not prepared for, ultimately leading to failure. The better way is to slow down, follow the process and let life shape you. This prepares you for the future and allows you to enjoy the present.

When I read this in Jon Gordon’s The Seed it spoke to me. ‘Hello, Brittany you have a history of rushing!’ There are moments when I am golden. I’m living in the moment, life is good. The thought of being alive, the potential of it all, of me is enough. Wherever I am is the perfect setting. What I’m doing feels right. I am perfect. I am utterly drunk on life and there are not all the side effects. Being present is like the ultimate drug, the supreme high. But then there are times where I am thinking in the future. Lost in a day-dream, I start to want and think I need more or I need to be doing something (being busy) so others will see I’m working towards something. I want to prove myself. I lack this balance between having dreams and intentions with being present and seeing signs. I lose the moment. When I want, I want it now. Once I make up my mind, sometimes I fear I’m going to lose the inspiration, so I rush. I want to share and have it instantly. I become eager to be in the dream, that I rush through the process. I miss steps, it’s not my best. I see my potential and I want it all in place.

But then I miss signs. I miss out on those high moments. I let pressure get to me. Pressure from myself. Perceived pressure from others and society to prove and be somebody. But  I have to stop. Stop living in the future and fast-forward. Those dreams and goals are out there, but speeding ahead is not going to get me there. If it is in my heart and I keep the intention in my everyday passion I cannot lose my dreams. I can only make them better. TAKE YOUR TIME. I have to admit, lately I have actually been sticking to this very well. Sure occasionally it pops up that I should rush, then I pause and let it go. My mom wants answers, she wants to help me live my dreams. Go, go, go, go. I have to look at her and say mom, I am working on it. It’s always in my heart. It’s always on my mind. I am progressing forward. But I am going to take my time for once, instead of rushing it. I’m going to see the signs. I’m going to acknowledge and appreciate when the right people come into my life. Most importantly I am going to listen to my heart and intuition. I want a cookbook that is 100% me, that is 100% my best. I want a gluten-free business that is the tastiest and best run that I can do. I am working on it, but let me take my time. This is my purpose. Living purposefully is not about deadlines and quotas or meeting others standards for success. It is not a one-time event or big moment (like promotions and launches). Living with purpose is the event. Your life is the event. Live it. Breathe. Take in each moment. Be high on it. Don’t rush. Take your time, now, today. Keep it in your heart and in your thoughts. Set the intention and let it be your passion. Don’t spend life in fast-forward, only looking to your dreams, you’ll miss what’s right in front of you. Do your best. Open your eyes. Open your heart. And be true to yourself. Make today your reality. Stop being busy and start becoming passionate. Live that. Burn bright with it. The rest will come when you keep your desires in mind and when you keep serving others in your heart.

“Patience child, patience. Remember, life is a journey. If you got everything you wanted all at once there’d be no point to living. Enjoy the ride, and in the end you’ll see these ‘setbacks’ as giant leaps forward, only you couldn’t see the bigger picture in the moment. Remain calm, all is within reach; all you have to do is show up every day, stay true to your path and you will surely find the treasure you seek.”

– Jackson Kiddard

Leave a Reply

