Interpretations

FalseLet it happen, if it wants, to whatever it can happen to: and what’s affected can complain about it if it wants. It doesn’t hurt me unless I interpret it’s happening as harmful to me. I can choose not to. Marcus Aurelius

I just finished Meditations by Marcus Aurelius and I think I could do an entire month on it. The biggest thing I took away was how short life is. He reiterated it over and over again. Our time is short and in the end we will all die and be laid to rest side-by-side. This makes me think then of how we treat our fellow beings because we are all ultimately facing the same future. I cannot control how others treat me. I can’t control how they think. What they say. What they do. What I do control, are my own perceptions. I can only be criticized and hurt if I let what’s said affect me. I control my own reactions. That’s on me. It’s on you how you interpret things. If we take something personally. If it makes us mad. If it makes us sad. Even if it makes us happy, that is on each individual. Work on your perceptions. Look at it differently. Don’t judge the person. Let them be. Treat them how you want to be treated and focus on your reaction. The importance is the quality of your thoughts. What thoughts and perceptions do you choose?

One thought on “Interpretations

Leave a Reply

