Smile in Trouble

I love those who can smile in trouble, who can gather strength from distress, and grow brave by reflection. ~Leonardo Da Vinci

Recently I had a bit of poison ivy. Okay a lot of poison ivy, all over my face. Causing my eye to swell at least triple its normal size. I have some amazing friends and clients who went out of their way to help me. I got to be their guinea pig for a natural fiber, that was supposed to draw the poison up. The tricky part was that it was on my face with all its angles and planes rather than a flat swatch of skin. That is why I came away with this lovely mask.

It would have been easy for me to be pissed off and self-conscious. But it had already happened. Shit happens sometimes. You just have to deal with it. Either you feel sorry for yourself and pout or you move on. Don’t let it get you down. A little tape on the outside does not change the me on the inside. Sure it may initially cause people to stare and it may have scared my nephews so Trenton was scurrying away from me, but I have to keep a positive outlook. But really most acted with compassion and sympathy for my condition. My sister, even though she initially dropped her jaw, said ‘well your hair looks great.’ (coming from her this means a lot). Even Todd’s joking was all in good fun. If you can’t make the most of a situation or see the light, how will anyone else. Beat everyone, to be the first to smile, the first to laugh. Hold on to what is really important in life. Not a temporary conditions. Don’t let it become a problem or a thorn. Don’t feed it and give it attention. Move on.

What an opportunity for me to grow. To radiate some inner energy and confidence. Keep your head up and put a smile on your face. This to shall pass. Grow from this experience. It’s just a bit of tape on your face for a couple of days. Get over it. Free yourself. Stay open.

Leave a Reply

