Redefining Strength

Growing up in the world of sports and weight training, I’ve come to associate strength mainly with physical. But today it hit me that strength is more than that. Strength is not about the number of pull-ups you can do or the weight that you bench press. We let these numbers define who we are. We throw them out like they place value on our lives. We live by the number on the scale. If it goes up or down it makes us a different person. But in reality no matter the weight, we are the same person on the inside. Our thoughts can be the same. But we let the fluctuating number tell us what we are worth and how to feel. When are are in school, we live for the GPA. That number tells us how smart we, how successful we’ll be in the future, where we’ll go to school. We get so caught up in it and for what? Honestly I couldn’t tell you what my GPA in high school or college was and I was studious and all about showing how ‘smart’ I was. In the real world that number didn’t matter. Will it really matter when your 50 that you can go around saying once upon a time you could bench 300 pounds. Does it change you?

Passion matters. A drive and purpose fueling you into action. Like my quantum moment  post, you create your job based on this passion. Strength is not a number. It isn’t being tough and not showing emotions. As I’ve begun to inch closer to my true self, my thoughts on these things have evolved. Today I began to redefine what strength means to mean (for every person it will be different).

Strength is being true to yourself. Being compassionate to others people, but also being unafraid to be yourself. To share what’s on your mind. To bold and honest. Honesty is one of the biggest strengths and something valuable.

Strength is confidence and belief in yourself. My most memorable lifts are ones when I finally let go in believed in my own power and abilities. When let go of the limiting thoughts and doubt.

Strength is being better, focusing on the good you can do today, not the tragedies of yesterday. The power of presence.

Strength is uncomfortable conversations. Talking to my mom about drinking is stronger than avoiding it and pretending it doesn’t exist because I don’t want to ‘hurt’ her or because confrontation makes me uncomfortable.

Strength is vulnerability. Dealing with shame and not hiding. Being exposed is strength. Letting people see you as you are. Crying and showing emotions is stronger, than holding it in so as not to be perceived as ‘weak’.

Strength is dancing for everyone to see, singing loudly and laughing jovially.

Strength is the person going to the gym to make themselves better. Not the person pressing all the weight to be perceived as strong. Not the person running miles, not because they love it, but they can say they ran x amount of miles.

Strength is LOVING YOURSELF.

Strength is a good hug, where you convey how you feel. When you can comfort someone. When you can show someone you can. When you can show how much you love someone.

Strength is loving, not hiding behind walls, but loving unconditionally. Letting someone else be themselves, and accepting them as is. I always felt safe in my dad’s arm, part of this strength I see in my dad is he’s not afraid to be himself or say what’s on his mind, but also because he let’s me be myself. He let’s me adventure. He let’s me dream. If ever I need him he will be there. Helping is strength.

Strength is not letting society or others tell you who or how to be. It is following your own path, your own drum beat.

Strength is pushing limits, tearing down the walls of impossibilities that we have built.

Strength is being happy in a world that tells us we shouldn’t be or when we doubt that we deserve the joy that comes.

Strength is thinking of others.

There are so many aspects to strength, beyond the physical beyond the numbers. Think and define what it means for you.

2 thoughts on “Redefining Strength

  1. I absolutely love this post… the part that struck me most is the “uncomfortable conversations”, I think I need to work on that one most… But all other points are equally true and inspiring 🙂 This was really beautiful.

    • Thank you so much! Uncomfortable conversations are always something I have to work on, but usually the build-up is worse than the talk. Say how you feel or what you’re thinking from a place of love and with an open heart, and it’s hard for someone to respond spitefully. In the end the growth that both people can experience out weighs the uncomfortableness.

Leave a Reply

