Let’s Be Honest

Brene Brown has made an impression on me. As I stare down at her list of 10 qualities the Wholehearted possess, I think to myself: Be honest. This isn’t what you want to be or wish to project. Be REAL with yourself. What are your strengths (this doesn’t have to just be about improvement, it’s okay to acknowledge strengths as well) and where do you need to focus to dare greatly and live honestly? I have made great strides. I have felt many of these but often I falter, so life goes, we’re in a continual stride for balance.

First, what are these 10 qualities:

  1. Cultivate Authenticity: Let Go of What Others Think
  2. Cultivate Self-Compassion Let Go of Perfectionism
  3. Cultivate a Resilient Spirit: Let go of numbing ad powerlessness
  4. Cultivate Intuition and Trusting Faith: Let go of a need for certainity
  5. Cultivate Gratitude and Joy: Let go of scarcity and fear of the dark
  6. Cultivate Creativity: Let go of comparison
  7. Cultivate Play and Rest: Let go of exhaustion as a status symbol and productivity as self-worth
  8. Cultivate Calm and Stillness: Let go of anxiety as a lifestyle
  9. Cultivate Meaningful Work: Self-doubt and supposed to
  10. Cultivate, Song, and Dance: Let go of being cools and ‘always in control’

My weaknesses:

  1. Authenticity: thoughts of what others are thinking frequently pop into my head. Sometimes I take things personally, sometimes I can shake it off. Sometimes I use the excuse that ‘I’m good at reading people’ to justify ‘knowing’ what others are thinking about me. Note to self: don’t take yourself so damn seriously all the time. Remove the stick from your ass, be yourself ALL the times and merely enjoy others time. Stay in your own head and stay the hell out of everyone Else’s.
  2. Creativity: not what you expected from a proclaimed reigning queen of creativity? I am wildly imaginative, but on the flip side my above statement can lead me to compare sometimes. Besides a fleeting, strong imagination, I am vividly romantic/nostalgic. Making experiences and others lives grander and magical than they truly are/were. Reminder to self: we’re all a little mad and you  Brittany are connected to the same source of abundance as everyone else. STOP thinking you’re not enough, that you don’t have enough, that you want more, or that someone has has more than you or something you want. Needy! Gratitude, which you’re good at, can save you in these instances.
  3. Meaningful work: more coming on this, but being at home, I feel more pressure of what I’m supposed to be doing with my time.

Sometimes I stumble with resilience’s, sometimes it burns blindingly bright, but sometimes there are hiccups or delays. On to the good news:

You Brittany are greatly intuitive and trustful! Do I occasionally have a twinge of fear when I don’t know what’s coming next? Certainly, but my travels and life the last year have pushed me. Times when I solely focused on the moment, utterly ignorant to what’s coming next. a little unsure but those thoughts are flushed out with the excitement and thrill of PRESENCE. In these moments I feel happiest and alive. When I micromanage and schedule my life, checking my to-do list, I suffer. When I’m aware, yet uncertain, consumed by Now, I find the greatest treasures and clarity.

Laugther, song, and dance I can rock. Considering I’m caring what others think of me is a weakness, being perceived as coll is not a part of this. Maybe I should clarify. I wear what I like, I love to dance and sing, but I let my job an job title consume me sometimes. My weakness with caring what others think steams from creating thoughts for others (yes I put the thoughts in their head) of what they think I should look like. I’m Body Change runs though my head, leading me into the physical realm rather than the higher truer self I’m reaching for, but my feet still are anchored down by trying! It is a common shame for women, a pressure to be small and perfect. Trying for me though is the killer to happiness. It makes me feel like a poser, but my thoughts say you need/should be this way…so I try. Not I am. Not my high self. Quite trying to be someone elses ideal image. Stop trying to defend period, that would be wonderful.

Wow, I feel relieved for letting this out. For being radically honest with myself and you. What’s funny though is that I feel incredibly vulnerable too, which is a large portion of Brown’s writing. But we (I) need to be vulnerable. It’s not about being comfortable, safe and perfect. Push, challenge, and honestly evaluate.

More coming from my learning with Brene Brown!

 

One thought on “Let’s Be Honest

  1. Pingback: NAKED | Living Thoreauly

Leave a Reply

