Full-Body Vulnerability

Last post from The Gifts of Imperfection and more on vulnerability. Granted this video is a little dark and hard to understand, but I can’t help but smile when I see it. I can vividly remember this night. A night where I lost my damn mind. Where I completely let go. Brown discusses play (which I also write about on Body Change, we don’t often consider play as relevent to our health past elementary school, but really if we enjoyed ourselves and lightened up a little our outlook may be a little different) and the importance of dancing, singing and dancing. Now I love to write about this kind of stuff and her opening chapter quote by Mark Twain is classic:

Dance like no ones watching. Sing like no one is listening. Love like you’ve never been hurt and live like its heaven on Earth.

Awesome! But what she goes on to say about dance struck me the most. Sure sometimes while bubbling with laughter (and snorting- yes I’m not embarrassed to say I snort sometimes) we may feel silly or out of control, and while singing can make us feel self-conscious it is dancing that is the true test. This self-expression makes us vulnerable. She calls it full-body vulnerability. Brilliant, that is exactly how it. Besides being naked it is probably the most vulnerable we can feel. We open the door to feeling fearful, silly. Somehow we think we’re doing it wrong. But again like I’ve said before: How can we be ‘wrong’ about expressing ourselves and what we’re feeling. Who is writing the book on How-to dance and where is it? It is easy and safe not to dance. But then we miss out on the reward. We miss out on expressing ourselves. On losing control momentarily by letting the beat take over us. We’re denying our senses and denying ourselves of potential fun because we are afraid to be vulnerable.

Start to drop the walls and begin open yourself up to being vulnerable. Smile. Laugh. Sing. DANCE!

Leave a Reply

