Create Your Life

Pinned ImageCreate: my thought of the moment. With the holidays and last month’s work challenge to post a recipe a day, I realized the importance of being creative. When we moved to Colorado I discovered my passion for it. For making anything with my hands. Of having a vision come to life before my eyes. Whether it was painting and transforming a building, or putting together a brochure or drawing a picture or sewing a scarf or cooking, I like making things with my own two hands. During the holidays spending time in the kitchen and sewing scarves I realized the power to create comes in believing. Believing in the vision. Believing in your skills. Believing you are the best sewer. The best baker. To put forth my best work I had to believe I could do it.

Now it is the new year. A time signifying new chapters, new beginnings. In previous years I would have clichly bucked resolution out of an unwillingness to be conventional. I lost the meaning. This new year is a mark. A sign to reflect back. How was this last year? What did I like? What could I have done better? What do I want to keep? What do I want to get rid of? Now pause and look forward. What direction do I want to take? What twist in my plotline do I want to see? Envision your dream life. What does it feel like? What does it look like? What do I look like? How does it smell? How does it taste? Who’s there with me? What do I do? What do I accomplish?

Now you’ve got the story in your head how do we then create our dreams? How do we do like my tattoo:

Our truest life is when we are in dreams awake.

Well we’ve already got the picture. Now we have to believe in it. Believe we deserve this life. Believe it is will (is) happening. Affirm and remind Make a mood board!yourself of the life you want to create. Each day work towards it. You’re extraordinary. You’re great. You’re imaginative. Don’t let others talk you out of your dreams. Don’t question. Create vision or mood boards to remind yourself. Write down affirmations and look at them in the morning or night, when you’re in doubt, or when you lose focus.

Don’t be afraid to dream big. It is your life, your story. You hold the pencil to paper or paint brush to canvas or fingers to guitar neck, you feel the rhythm to dance. Take control of your own life. No rules. No boundaries. No doubt. Create and live the life of your dreams now. Start building it now.

The tree that fills a man’s embrace begins with a seedling.
A tower nine stories high begins with a single brick.
A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step. ~Tao Te Ching

6 thoughts on “Create Your Life

  1. It is truly amazing how you put into words EXACTLY what I am thinking! What you have written is part of my business plan. Clients and I are putting together vision books filled with pictures, words, and affirmations of how they see their future. Having an album they can hold in their hands and look at every morning and evening is very powerful and really aims to get the feelings stirring. Thoughts/Dreams + Pictures + Emotions = Creating Your Future!

    The two of us are living proof of being deliberate creators. 🙂

    How would you feel about Creating Your Life with a vision album?

  2. I love the idea of an album. Then your dreams are tangible. You can hold them in your hands. You can carry them with you. There presence will always be there, always reminding you to keep the thoughts. I’m going to work on my album today!

  3. What a flippin’ fantastic piece!!!!!!!!!! And now . . . I must learn how to “reblog” or however you share someone else’s blog on your own…it’s just that good!!! DAMN WOMAN!! It’s just one big Yes.

  4. Pingback: Create Your Life | Bipolar On Fire

Leave a Reply

