Expelling Excuses

excusesDr. Dyer has changed my life. Period. I can clearly recollect the book, the exact moment in time, where I was, what I was doing that my life changed. The moment I began finding myself. The moment I began living. The moment I began working on my thoughts. The moment I began loving myself. The moment I realized my own potential and power.

The first book I ever read by Dr. Dyer was Excuses Begone. Prior to reading it I was oblivious. Oblivious to the world. Oblivious to how excuses ruled my life. Oblivious that I was living in fear. Oblivious to all the memes built up throughout my life. I have grown so much. Being in Colorado has changed me even more. I have soared higher and thought clearer than I ever have in my life. I am returning to Indiana this week, and there inside me is a little reservation: what if I fall back into old memes and old habits? I know that with my thoughts I am capable of keeping my new higher self, but I am aware that there is a lot of conditioning and memes going back home.

So to stay inspired and to keep myself, to live without fear (less fear, I’m constantly practicing this), I am going to focus the next week on Dr. Dyer. Each day I will take an excuse. See how it applies or has applied to my life and disarm with positive affirmations. Today, though, I am just re associating myself with the list of 18 commonly used excuses. Here they are:

  • It will be difficult
  • It’s going to be risky
  • it will take a long time
  • There will be family drama
  • I don’t deserve it
  • It’s not my nature
  • I can’t afford it
  • No one will help me
  • It has never happened before
  • I’m not strong enough
  • I’m not smart enough
  • I’m too old (or not old enough)
  • The rules won’t let me
  • It’s too big
  • I don’t have the energy
  • It’s not my personal family history
  • I’m too busy
  • I’m too scared

 

3 thoughts on “Expelling Excuses

  1. Great post. I have not read that particular book from Wayne, but I have read many of his others. I actually saw him last week when he was here in Colorado. Amazing man and he has had a huge impact on my life as well. His was one of the first spiritual books that I read. Thanks for sharing the list…I will have to remember that one.

    • Thanks! Change Your Thoughts Change Your Life is definitely the book that defines my mindset shift, but Excuses Begone heightened my awareness to read it. I saw Dr Dyer in Chicago last year and he was absolutely phenomenal!

  2. Pingback: Family Drama: Excuse #4 | Living Thoreauly

Leave a Reply

