Living Without Limits

Today on my hike I ran into a man with one leg peddling uphill. Although my initial reaction was a cliché WOW! As the wheels began to turn so unfolded thoughts already developing in my thoughts, but this reasserted them. This encounter coincided with me hanging posters on the wall from Dr Dyer’s Excuses Begone: 1. It will be difficult, It’s going to be risk, It will take a long time,There will be family drama, I don’t deserve it, It’s not my nature, I can’t afford it, No one will help me, It has never happened before, I’m not strong enough, I’m not smart enough – I am a creation of the Divine mind; all is perfect, and I am a genius in my own right, I’m too old (or not old enough),  The rules won’t let me, It’s too big, I don’t have the energy, It’s not my personal family history, I’m too busy, and I’m too scared

How often do we let fear and excuses run our live? How often do we focus on our ‘shortcomings’ and what is missing from our life? We run, run from our potential. We look at the whole skyscraper, when if we looked at one flight or a single step we could eliminate so many excuses. Gone is the fear that it is too big, or that it will take too long, or we are not strong enough.

I think back to the Olympics and the South African runner, Oscar. What a powerful example. We’ve got to stop limiting ourselves with excuses. All it does it hold us back from living. Entombing us in fear, so that we never know or reach the potential inside all of us. Do it all though, don’t just talk about it or dream about ideas. Go after them, get peddling up that hill and don’t set limits for yourself. Instead see the bounty and possibility that lies ahead of you.

Like the book I’d have my mom repeatedly read when I was younger: The Little Engine that Could. I think I can… I think I can… Why do we grow out of our potential instead of into it? Why do we dismiss Fairy Tales, for a life lived with our hands tied behind our back? Completely derailed, we NEED to get back on track. I’m not completely excuse free, but it is a challenge, one thought at a time. Uncover the excuse and then dispel it, do not succumb to it. Instead focus and affirm what you can do. I think I can…I think I can…

BE, Love, Illuminate,

Brittany

Leave a Reply

