Awareness, Perseverance, and Reward

The potential reward

I apologize now for the potential depth of this post, but I spent over 10 hours in a tree stand this weekend, which leads a lot of time for perpetual thought. The true challenge is to convey it to you without seeming scattered (it gels and flows so eloquently in my head, but I struggle sometimes to get it right on paper). Let’s begin with awareness. I’ll tell you now that I struggled to stay inspired this weekend (rather I was tested). It would all start out so promising, with high spirits, but as the hours eek on and the only movement I saw were those of squirrels, my focus began to slip. I found myself getting frustrated (like I was upset at the deer for not running by my stand). Then I’d start feeling sorry for myself, etc, just all kinds of ridiculous thoughts. Insert the Power of Now, where it talks about thoughts, and separation from one’s thoughts. I was able to see myself thinking these outlandish/pouty thoughts. What provoked this? Why am I thinking this way? Where are these thoughts coming from? Upon doing this I was able to bring myself back up. I don’t really feel this way, how ludicrous to let myself get flustered by something out of my control (like deer movement is something to take personally). I’m the first to admit that I’m not always good at remaining inspired all the time, but this awareness of my limiting thoughts, is a step in the right direction. I’ve been reading Gandhi and something that I’ve taken away is experimentation. Gandhi was always evaluating himself  (his thoughts and actions) in his journey towards ‘zero’.  I feel like we get caught up in achieving, that we forget that life is in essence an experiment (starting in our youth-we’re constantly putting things in our mouth to test them out, we test our abilities, the limits that we can our parents and others to, etc.) Each obstacle is a lesson then to learn. I evaluate myself, my thoughts, what I say, how I react, all the time. How did I respond to this situation? I’m judging in this instance, ok so how do I change this so in the future I judge less? It’s not only this way with character, but in most aspects of life. Take part of my job, weight loss (or what I like to think of it: a lifestyle of eating that nourishes me now and for my future, so that I am able to live a long and healthy life. Anyone can lose weight or be ‘skinny’ that doesn’t mean they’re healthy, my objective is not to fuel my own vanity, but to ensure my potential future-sorry for the tangent!). It is important to test different eating/exercise regimes and see how YOUR body reacts. One plan isn’t going to work for everyone. What pattern fits your lifestyle, schedule, metabolism, muscle tissue, activity level (the list of potential influential factors is ongoing). How does your body react to dairy and butter, to nuts, to gluten? just like there is no magic pill, there is no universal set of numbers that works for someone else (something may work for someone else-like they lose 3 pounds this week-that doesn’t mean that if you do the same exact thing, your body is going to react in the same way and produce the same results). You’ve got to keep trying in order to get results (and be aware of your thoughts like I said before. When you find yourself reaching for this cooking- stop and think. Do I really want this cookie? Am I actually hungry or craving it? Where is the urge to eat it coming from? and so on. Sometimes you may put and it down and other times you may not, but you’ve taken a step). Key in the second word perseverance. Sitting on my ass at home isn’t going to put meat on the table. Now, I have to get up, get dressed and put time in my tree, so that I ensure I am there when that deer passes by. Putting in effort and time brings reward. It’s like when we climbed Pike’s Peak and I got caught in a hail storm. I pushed on through the storm and 1/2 mile from the top, I turn around to see absolute perfection. The most vibrant double rainbow, that I can see from end-to-end. A reward for my perseverance. Same with weight loss, if I give up after a week, say it’s not for me, it’s too hard, and revert back to lounging around on the couch eating potato chips, hoping to lose weight some day, I am never going to actually accomplish anything. Sure on the journey we may fall (we may even tumble all the way back down to the bottom), but what matters is that we pick ourselves up and keep pushing towards the top. Maybe that was the wrong path, this is an opportunity to try another trail. Just don’t stop because reward (whether it’s emotional or physical) is waiting for you at the top (or sometimes it leads to another peak). In essence today’s post take-away: be aware of contradicting thoughts, push and keep experimenting, so that you can reap the benefits of your perseverance. Keep Climbing!

BE, Love, Illuminate,

Brittany

3 thoughts on “Awareness, Perseverance, and Reward

  1. Very insightful, and I love the words of encouragement at the end! I can appreciate your willingness to work through the nagging and seemingly non-sense feelings and thoughts. It sounds almost like a tad bit of ADHD wandering around and you had to fight it off. My experience has been that these kind of thoughts are great to use as an exercise to become stronger in mind and purpose. Whenever things suddenly just pop into my head, I find it very powerful to take the challenge to “drive” these thoughts down a path leading to something that is real and makes sense.

    Not to be too deep here, but distracting thoughts are one of the most dangerous means by which our aspirations can become cluttered and diminished. The exercise of practicing methods for staying focused is a great tool that has other applications in life. But, that is just my opinion and observation.

    Good luck in the future and let me know if you ever would like some outside perspective on thoughts or ideas.

    All my best,
    James

    • Thanks James I found your comment very enlightening. I just got back from a trip to Vancouver and my host practiced mindful exercises with us, where we would relax and envision, let thoughts come, see them and then let them wash or float away. So we were allowing the thoughts, but not letting them effect us, rather just let them be and accept them (if that makes sense). It was a calming, meditative state that helps. Thanks again, I can see that you’re very insightful.
      Brittany

Leave a Reply

