Am I Happy?

The other day my happiness was questioned. I was told that I was living with smoking  mirrors and that I haven’t grown spiritually. I admit for a fleeting second I believed this (or considered it). Then I thought, how am I going to let someone else tell me how I should feel or BE. Like Thoreau says, “Be yourself- not your idea of what you think somebody else’s idea of yourself should be.” I’ve got to be true-to myself; it’s OK to listen to other people’s thoughts (and I took many positives away from the conversation), but you still need to retain your own (just say hmm I never thought of it that way). I know that I’ve found Love, Beauty, Gratitude, Perfection, BEING, and Happiness. Happiness is something that we inherently are. Like Dr. Dyer says, “Most people are searching for happiness outside of themselves. That’s a fundamental mistake. Happiness is something that you are and it comes from the way you think.” So how can I not be happy if it is already a part of me? Each day (and moment for that matter) is a choice. We select whether to be sad, happy, miserable, stressed, angry, hateful, gleeful, blissful, enigmatic, etc. Each day I wake up and decide to be happy and when I falter (and it happens, look at the beginning), I ask myself  ‘What’s lacking right Now’. I refocus on the NOW and choose (well do I want to keep feeling for myself or snap out of this poutiness and enjoy the bliss that is life- hard choice but I pick the later). To answer this post, I AM HAPPY because it’s a state of mind. Choose wisely and stay true to yourself.

BE, Love, Illuminate

Brittany

One thought on “Am I Happy?

  1. Pingback: More about Happiness « My Takes

Leave a Reply

