Solitude for Self Discovery

At work I’ve looked at ‘The Power of Lonely’ and solitude, which of course has sparked an interest as I often find myself alone or doing things by myself (although I readily admit this is often by choice). I find it to be more of a way to test myself. Like Steve Job’s said, I came into this world alone and I’ll die alone. But being alone is often frowned upon. When I went backpacking in California I often go ‘by yourself! You’re brave,’ and my Dad says that’s not something everyone can do (he goes hunting in a remote location in Colorado with no human interaction for days). We’re so used to always being with others, we don’t know what to do when we’re alone. We’re constantly searching for someone to be there (like those people who seem to never seem to single). I think being social is important and I’ve consciously worked on my relationships this year (although with new perspective). I was reading (I know shocker) and it kind of spurred this entry: ‘What is feared as failure in American society is above all aloneness. And aloneness is terrifying because it means there is no one, no group, no approved cause to submit to. We must close our eyes, go inside, be still and listen for our voiceless presence in order to remain true to our  authentic self. Is this right, we’re afraid of being alone because we’re afraid of being our true-selves or we don’t know our true-selves? I think this could be right. We are conditioned from childhood to fin in, trying to fit others’ images of ourselves and societal  norms. When I hike (my favorite solitary moment, its pretty much sacred to me) I am able to reconnect; to breathe! I leave my phone at home (another issue, we are constantly connected), take off with my backpack and go. Sometimes I take my IPod, sing and dance and just let myself BE (it’s so freeing and liberating). No one’s there watching, I don’t have any makeup on, there’s no one there to please but myself. It doesn’t matter if I sing off key or completely lose my mind dancing (squirrels and deer tend to judge less). Some days I reflect. It puts thing in perspective, I’m alone and can wrap my thoughts around how I am feeling devoid of others’ input. Once I get to the top of Snow Hill, I turn and look around, taking in the perfection and beauty of Nature (side not-forest bathing is an instant mood booster), and I reflect on how wonderful/blissful my life is and I feel humbled with gratitude. Upon finishing I feel inspired, appreciated, and electri with life. Time apart from the people I love, I find actually makes the time I do spend with them so much better because I can appreciate. Take a hike, find your true-self!

BE, Love, Illuminate

Brittany

Leave a Reply

