Losing Control to Gain Perspective

Motivation Monday with Brittany! I know this title may seem like an oxymoron, but I promise that it will make sense by the end. I feel that living inspired goes hand-in-hand with my eating and health. For the last 6 weeks I have felt slightly less inspired than I was previously, and thus, out of complete harmony with my eating (not bad just not as focused as I was previously). So what to do? Take off on an adventure of rediscovery of course. To be able to just be and not think. Friday morning I got in my car and took off with no definite plan of where I was going, but not caring and not hurrying. Previously I would have been afraid. How often do we have to have plans. We have our five-year and ten-year plans. We know what we’re doing tomorrow, we know what we’re doing in a week. We go on vacation and it’s pre-planned and an itinerary is in place (we have to see this and do that). This is typical of humans, we don’t necessarily like the unexpected. Moving into my shed, initially I was terrified. How long am I going to live here, what about the winter, on and on. But then I realized that that is what is wonderful about the whole thing and this is what I took from the weekend. Not knowing where I’m going to be tomorrow or in an hour is so freeing, it’s an adventure and let’s you treasure the moment that is here right now. It’s like Thoreau (someone I consider a true kindred spirit) said, “What lies behind us and what lies ahead of us are tiny matters compared to what lives within us.” How beautiful a thought, plus he also said “All good things are wild and free.” Something I consider myself to BE. Another great part of these types of journeys besides being present and realizing that nothing is really that big of a deal (rule #6 don’t take yourself so damn seriously)-eating good-working out (rather practicing kettlebells)-everything is not such a big deal. This moment is what is important. Not knowing is great and this is another great part of the adventure breaking down walls. Before I had this ‘character’ in my head of who I was supposed to be what I was supposed to do (we all have this, that we’re supposed to learn in school, get a job, get married, have a family, have a house, retire, on and on). I used to have a list of things that I wanted to do and got rid of it in the spring. Now I just follow my intuition and act. Do what you want and don’t think or talk about doing it. Don’t think you have to be a certain way or label yourself. Initially not knowing or losing your tight grip on control can be terrifying, but I find it to be so freeing (my true self coming through and my ego evaporating). I traveled around taking exits at will and returning home when I felt like it. Now I am focused. I’m focused on work, on hunting, on my eating, everything. Things are back in perspective! So go, have an adventure, tear down walls and let go of control and you might discover the beauty of NOW and what is important!

BE, Love, Illuminate

Brittany

Leave a Reply

